Register To Comment
    Legend !

Status
    Well it seems I have finally succumb to boredom and I have begun to make music and produce Hip Hop beats (J Dilla changed my life... again)

I dont know if any one on here has any experience with music/engineering/production (Im using Fruity Loops 9 XXL Producers edition) so I would love as much feedback as possible!

http://www.soundcloud.com/divided-thoughts

I only made my first beat...I think 5 days ago, Im trying to teach myself how to sample as well, Im aiming for an obvious progression though the beats.

....so if you have any old songs that you would love to hear on a hip hop track let me know!

THTV Donator

Status
    Hi mate,

If you need any help or anything then let me know. I've been using FL Studio for about 7 years. When I'm home from work I'll link you up with my stuff

Legend !

Status
    Quote Originally Posted by Domplo View Post
    This quote is hidden because you are ignoring this member. Show Quote
    Hi mate,

If you need any help or anything then let me know. I've been using FL Studio for about 7 years. When I'm home from work I'll link you up with my stuff

That would be most appreciated; we've turned in to a real electronic town as well, most of my friends produce but are using ableton so it's hard for me to find anyone I can just ask questions to. Like how to isolate a sample and put effects on it?

boo

Status

1) turn the drums down, the other sounds are getting lost-

i can try and give you a rough rule of thumb with this.

volume 1-10

vocal at 8
    snare at 7
    keys, guitars, hats at 6
    kick and bass at 5

note, nothing is at max volume during the mix. this is because any mix needs headroom to go into the mastering stage.

typical rule of thumb; -6dB max output from the mix.

2) mixing kick and bass

put a 2~3dB eq at 80hz on the kick, 50hz on the bass using a band eq/small bell.

this helps separate the 2 and prevent muddiness.